Menu Menu
Academic Senate
Menu Academic Senate
Menu UCSB - Senate
Menu University of California Santa Barbara
Menu Menu
University of California Santa Barbara
Academic Senate Awards

Prior Year Recipients

2014-15 Outstanding Graduate Mentor Award

Francesco Bullo - Mechanical Engineering

Professor Francesco Bullo is a faculty member (and current Chair) of the Department of Mechanical Engineering, where he began in 2004. He has had an incredibly strong track record in the mentorship and guidance of many graduate students, both in a research context as well as in a service role, as chair of the Graduate Program, a role he held for many years before becoming department chair. Over his career, he has supervised 16 completed Ph.D.’s and currently supports a group of 8 Ph.D. students. He has also supervised a sizeable number of M.S. students, both at UCSB and his previous institution.

Beyond his individual mentoring, he is noted for dedicating a significant amount of energy into mentoring on a larger scale. As the Graduate Program chair in Mechanical Engineering for five years he was responsible for not only the recruitment of new graduate students but also managing the current students.

One of his former students who now holds an assistant professor appointment summarizes Prof. Bullo’s credentials: “I cannot imagine a better advisor and mentor. Francesco supports his students throughout all stages of their graduate studies, he helps them to grow on a personal and professional level, and he makes sure that they succeed in their careers. I could not have imagined a better advisor. He is my true academic hero and a role model that I want to live up to when supervising my own students.”

For his dedication and exemplary mentorship of graduate students Professor Francesco Bullo is awarded an Outstanding Graduate Mentor Award. Congratulations, Professor Bullo!