Menu Menu
Academic Senate
Menu Academic Senate
Menu UCSB - Senate
Menu University of California Santa Barbara
Menu Menu
University of California Santa Barbara
Academic Senate Awards

Prior Year Recipients

2018-19 Distinguished Teaching Award

Heather Royer - Economics

Prof. Heather Royer is modernizing traditional Economics by introducing quantitative methods to the intersection of Social Science and Economics. In a major as large as Economics, her vision is to provide undergraduates with the personalized attention of a small college classroom inside a large research University. Her commitment to bridging undergraduate teaching and research is evident in her creation of economics data hacking events, undergraduate research seminars, support of the Undergraduate Economics Association, and mentoring undergraduates interested in pursuing research conferences. In one instance, she even supported a McNair scholar’s travel to a research conference. For her unconventional approach to engage undergraduate students and prepare them with a diverse set of intellectual tools, we are pleased to recognize Prof. Royer with the Distinguished Teaching Award.