Menu Menu
Academic Senate
Menu Academic Senate
Menu UCSB - Senate
Menu University of California Santa Barbara
Menu Menu
University of California Santa Barbara

45. Faculty Legislature

  1. Purpose.

    The Faculty Legislature acts for the Division in all Senate matters; it is the only body that may vote on legislation.
  2. Membership.

    The Faculty Legislature consists of:
    1. The following ex officio members: the Divisional Vice Chair/Secretary, the Parliamentarian, the Chancellor, and the members of the Executive Council. Ex officio members have no voting privilege.
    2. The Divisional Chair, who is chair of the Faculty Legislature and the elected Divisional Representatives to the Assembly as at-large members.
    3. Members elected by Constituencies: The Senate members of each Department and Program shall constitute a duly established committee of the Santa Barbara Division solely to provide a Constituency from which representatives to the Faculty Legislature are elected. All Senate members shall be represented by a Constituency, and are entitled to nominate, vote, and serve as representatives for their Constituency. The election procedure shall be determined by each Constituency and shall be overseen by the chair (or delegate) of the Department/Program; the right of any member to require a secret ballot shall be respected.

      Representatives to the Faculty Legislature shall be apportioned to each Constituency on the basis of one representative for every 20 Full Time Equivalent (FTE) Senate members. All Senate members, including emeriti/ae, are included in the apportionment number, excepting those emeriti/ae who have notified the Senate office that they do not wish to be included.

      The Constituency of each College or School lacking a Department shall have a minimum of one representative to the Faculty Legislature.

      Constituencies of smaller Departments and Programs that do not numerically qualify for representation by the above formulation shall be entitled to one representative every second year.

      Reapportionment shall be examined by the Committee on Rules, Jurisdiction and Elections periodically (at least every three years), or on call by any Senate member.

      Should a Constituency be unable to fill a representative vacancy for any reason, the Committee on Committees shall appoint a member from the same Area [See 45C].

      No time limit is established for length of service as a Constituency representative.

      At the start of every academic year, each member shall select an alternate legislator (alternate) who agrees to attend Faculty Legislature meetings and act on behalf of the member when the member is unable to attend a meeting. The member shall report the name of the alternate to the Executive Director of the Senate upon selection every year. The alternate must be a Senate member from the same constituency as the member. If a member cannot attend a Faculty Legislature meeting, he or she shall inform both the alternate and the Executive Director of the Senate. Alternates have the same rights in the Faculty Legislature as regular members. (Am 3 Nov 05)
    4. Representatives as follows:
      1. Seven representatives from non-Senate academic appointees (with greater than 50% appointments) who have been elected at large;
      2. The President, Vice President for Academic Affairs, and one other designated officer of the Graduate Students Association;
      3. The President, two Vice Presidents, and one other designated member of the Associated Students Legislative Council.
  3. Campus Areas.

    Four Campus Areas are defined as:
    • Area I, Professions (Education [all departments], Engineering [all departments], Military Science, School of Environmental Science and Management)
    • Area II, Fine Arts and Humanities (Art, Classics, Dramatic Art & Dance, East Asian Languages, English, Film Studies, French & Italian, Germanic, Slavic & Semitic Studies, History, History of Art and Architecture, Linguistics/ESL, Music, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Spanish & Portuguese, Writing Program)
    • Area III, Social Sciences (Anthropology, Asian American Studies, Black Studies, Chicano Studies, Communication, Economics, Exercise and Sport Studies, Political Science, Sociology, Women's Studies)
    • Area IV, Sciences (Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, Biological Sciences [Ecology, Evolution & Marine Biology, and Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology], Chemistry & Biochemistry, Environmental Studies, Geography, Earth Science, Mathematics, Physics, Psychology, Speech & Hearing Sciences, Statistics & Applied Probability)
  4. Quorum.

    A quorum shall be 20 members, including at least 18 Constituency representatives [See 45B3].
  5. Duties.

    Except as otherwise provided in these Bylaws, the Faculty Legislature acts finally for the Division on all matters requiring action by the Division. At its discretion, the Faculty Legislature may refer any such matters to a meeting of the Division for consideration. In carrying out its work, the Faculty Legislature may adopt such rules or procedures as deemed necessary and consonant with the Bylaws of the Senate and the Division.
  6. Meetings.

    The Faculty Legislature meets at least four times during the academic year on a schedule to be announced at the beginning of the academic year by the Chair of the Division. Special meetings may be called by the Chair of the Division and must be called on the written request of ten voting members of the Division. Scheduled meetings may be canceled by the Chair for lack of business. Emergency meetings may be called in accordance with Divisional Bylaw 170B and C. The order of business at all meetings is governed by Divisional Bylaw 180. Agenda and minutes conform to Divisional Bylaw 185. For due notice see Divisional Bylaw 170C. (Am 22 Apr 99)
  7. Privilege of the Floor.

    Members of the Division who are not Legislators and the Representatives have the privilege of the floor. Members of the Division may make motions but not second them or vote.
  8. Ballot Referral.

    At the request of 25 members of the Division, submitted in writing to the Divisional Secretary within five days after the circulation of the minutes of a Faculty Legislature meeting, any action of the Faculty Legislature shall be submitted to a ballot. If 50 members of the Division so request, as provided above, the Faculty Legislature action shall remain without force until confirmed by a ballot of the Division. The results of any such referendum are conclusive, and the matter may not be reconsidered during the same academic year unless reconsideration is authorized by another referendum. [See Divisional Legislative Ruling D4.72, Appendix II] (En 11 Feb 71; ratified by mail ballot 10 Mar 71; Am Feb 98; Am 22 Apr 99; Am 30 May 02; Am 31 Oct 02)