Menu Menu
Academic Senate
Menu Academic Senate
Menu UCSB - Senate
Menu University of California Santa Barbara
Menu Menu
University of California Santa Barbara

60. Council on Faculty Welfare, Academic Freedom, and Awards

  1. Purpose.

    To study and make recommendations on any matter of faculty or broader campus community welfare and academic freedom, and to reward excellence in research and teaching.
  2. Membership.

    Members are selected to ensure appropriate representation of the campus’ diversity of faculty and emeriti/ae, with representation based on the apportionment of the Faculty Legislature as much as possible. The Council consists of at least ten (10) Academic Senate members, two (2) of whom are emeriti/ae. The Council Chair and Vice Chair are appointed by the Committee on Committees from among the members. In addition, there is one non-Senate academic, one undergraduate and one graduate student representative, appointed by the Committee on Committees, Associated Students, and the Graduate Student Association, respectively. One member is appointed each to the University Committee on Faculty Welfare and University Committee on Academic Freedom by the Committee on Committees. The Chair is a member of the Executive Council.
  3. Organization.

    The Council on Faculty Welfare, Academic Freedom, and Awards consists of three standing subcommittees and any number of ad hoc committees. The Council Chair, in consultation with the membership, shall appoint any number of individuals or ad hoc committees in response to Administrative or joint Administrative/Senate Committee needs, and within the Council’s purview, e.g., the Parking and Transportation Committee. In so doing, the Chair may consult with the Committee on Committees. Individuals may be appointed from the general Senate membership as necessary. Members so appointed report to the Council. Membership of the standing committees is selected by the chair. The Chairs of the standing committees are appointed from the Council members by the Council Chair in consultation with the Council Vice Chair. The Council and its standing committees may invite consultants and guests to meetings as deemed appropriate. The standing committees are as follows:

    1. Executive Committee, consisting of the Council Chair, Vice Chair, the subcommittee chairs, and systemwide committee representatives, if different;
    2. Committee on Academic Freedom, composed of a Chair and four (4) Council members;
    3. Committee on Emeriti/ae and Retirement, consisting of a Chair, who is emeritus/a, and three (3) members, one of whom is also emeritus/a.

    In addition there shall be at least two ad hoc committees dealing with awards:

    1. The Committee on Faculty Research Lecturer, consisting of at least three past recipients of the award and one Council member, to recommend annually the recipient of the Research Lectureship;
    2. The Committee on Distinguished Teaching, consisting of seven members, two of which are past recipients of the award and one Council member, to recommend annually the recipients of the Distinguished Faculty Teaching Awards.
  4. The Council Vice Chair will coordinate the administration of the award programs. (Am 22 Apr 04)

  5. Duties.

    The Council:
    1. advises the Division on matters concerned with faculty welfare, including economic, health and safety issues, matters that affect the conditions of employment, and changes to the retirement system; consults administrative officers as appropriate.
    2. initiates studies or makes recommendations with respect to any conditions within or without the Division which may affect academic freedom.
    3. oversees maintenance of current, centralized demographic records of all emeriti/ae members of the Division.
    4. maintains communication with emeriti/ae to ascertain and make known to the Division and the Administration their interests and needs, and facilitates continued contribution to the University by emeriti/ae.
    5. formulates for the Division a position on cultural and educational ties to the greater community; advises the Senate on matters relating to the intellectual links between the campus and the surrounding community; provides a Senate response to matters of campus community functions not otherwise in the purview of existing Senate committees.
    6. promotes research excellence and teaching effectiveness in coordination with the Council on Research and Instructional Resources. Determines major campus awards, such as the annual Research Lectureship and Distinguished Teaching awards, the latter as approved by the Faculty Legislature in April 1976 and amended in January 1999. (En 30 May 02)